Tommy Smith, president

Dr. L. Thomas (Tommy) Smith Jr. is the seventh president of Johnson University, beginning his tenure on July 1, 2018. He is a native of Carter County, Tennessee, and a graduate of Johnson Bible College (B.A., 1978), Emmanuel School of Religion (M.A.R., 1986), and the University of Tennessee (Ph.D., 1990). He has served as professor of history and theology at Johnson University (since 1989), dean of the School of Arts and Sciences (2012-2014), and vice president for academic affairs/provost (2014-17). Tommy has also held associate, youth, and worship ministries in Knoxville and Valley Forge, Tennessee, and preaching ministries in Jonesborough, Kingston, Embreeville, Knoxville, and Farragut, Tennessee.

He is the author of Above Every Other Desire: A Centennial History of Johnson Bible College (1992) and Above Every Other Desire: A History of Johnson University, 1893-2018 (2018), and has contributed essays, articles, and book reviews to various publications. In addition to his administrative and teaching responsibilities, Tommy keeps an active speaking schedule including revivals, workshops, retreats, and seminars, and has conducted short-term mission trips to Haiti, Honduras, China, and Ukraine. He has also engaged in interim preaching ministries, seeking to assist churches during important transitional periods. Tommy and his wife Deborah have two married sons, Jacob and Joshua, and six grandchildren.

Jon Weatherly, vice president for academic affairs/provost

Jon Weatherly became vice president for academic affairs/provost at Johnson University after serving since 2013 as professor of New Testament and dean of the School of Bible and Theology. Previously he served for 23 years as a faculty member and administrator at Cincinnati Christian University. Born and raised in Indianapolis, Indiana, he holds degrees from CCU and Trinity Evangelical Divinity School, and received the Ph.D. in New Testament exegesis from the University of Aberdeen in Scotland. Jon has written two books, edited a third, and written several articles that have appeared in scholarly and popular journals. Jon and his wife, Tammie, have been married since 1979 and are the parents of a daughter, Allison, a resident physician in pediatrics, and a son, Cale, a Ph.D. in chemistry working in pharmaceuticals. Jon’s other interests include listening to and playing classical music and jazz, exercising, cooking, gardening, reading, watching classic movies, and suffering with the Cincinnati Reds and Indiana Pacers.

Michael Chambers, executive vice president, JUFL

Michael Chambers was born in Chattanooga, Tennessee, but grew up in the Midwest, attending public schools in and around Lincoln, Illinois. Dr. Chambers served as academic dean at St. Louis Christian College for nine years, where he was also executive vice president. He formerly was a member of the faculty of Florida Christian College and served as the institution’s first dean of students. An ordained minister, he held located ministries in Collinsville and Springfield, Illinois, before moving to Florida in 1979.

He earned the B.A. from Lincoln Christian College and the M.A. and the M.Div. degrees from Lincoln Christian Seminary and completed a doctoral residency and research for a dissertation in philosophy at the University of Florida. He was awarded the Ph.D. in Ancient Philosophy from Warnborough University in England. Dr. Chambers has served as visiting professor at Cincinnati Christian Seminary and St. Louis Christian College. He is a member of the governing boards of the Consortium for Urban Religious Education in St. Louis, Missouri, and Pioneer Bible Translators in Dallas, Texas. Dr. Chambers and his wife Pamela have three married children—Christopher, Cara, and Rachel—and are the thankful grandparents of seven grandchildren.

Johnson University Senior Leadership Team

L. Thomas Smith Jr.President
Cynthia T. BarnardVice President for Finance
Michael L. ChambersExecutive Vice President, JUFL
Richard ClarkVice President for Advancement
Jennifer JohnsonChief Communications Officer
David LeggVice President for Student Services
Clifford C. McCartneyVice President for Administration
Brandon PerryAthletic Director
Lisa TarwaterChief Admissions Officer
Jon WeatherlyVice President for Academic Affairs/Provost
William F. WolfDean of the Chapel

Johnson University Trustees

Richard E. WoodsChairman
Gregory J. GrantVice Chairman
Jeff WhitlockSecretary
MRAMartha Raile Alligood
W. Perry Bailey
L.D. Campbell
Carol McLean Clifford
Kevin Duval
Scott Eynon
KFKenneth Funk
Mark Harrell
Drew Mentzer
Sam Widener
Bill Wang Xu
Paul T. ColemanLEGAL COUNSELKnoxville, Tennessee
Tommy SmithEX OFFICIOPresident of Johnson University